Wednesday, December 12, 2012
Chachachang Mamamaiiii
We made it! Chiang Mai is awesome. SP and I spent the first two days exploring the city on foot. We would basically find a store or restaurant online that looked cool and go find it, like a self-made scavenger hunt. We found the best pizza in town, the huge grocery store, and the only pumpkin pie in Thailand, among others. One night for dinner we went to this fancy-ass place where we sat in our own outdoor room thing (shown above) that was fairly inexpensive for American standards. Saidee took the midnight bus from Mae Sariang, arriving at 4am on Tuesday. We surprised her by going to a place that has cheesecake, her favorite dessert. We decided to all get hair wraps, and we found this awesome cafe where the owner does beautiful ones. In the cafe we discovered this subculture of young Europeans, who were once tourists but decided to stay. They all hang out in cute cafes, do yoga, play cool instruments. Last night we ended up at a cheesey Mexican place with karaoke called Loco Elvis. We sat next to two guys who...prepare for your mind to be blown...went to Colorado College, my tiny school no one on the east coast has ever heard of. They gave me tons of advise, made me so so excited for the fall. Later we're going to a Thai movie. And tomorrow we go home!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment